How we chose and how the list is ordered
Tibexa publishes this list and is a vendor. We sell outbound services and no software, so we are not an entry. We build with Smartlead in practice, and by the criteria below it ranks second. We read each vendor's pricing page and its sending or warm-up documentation, and checked them on 18 October 2026.
Four criteria set the order. The vendor publishes plan prices. Its documentation states a per-mailbox sending figure. It says whether warm-up counts toward that cap. It describes how mailboxes rotate. We left out Reply.io, whose pages returned an access error to our fetch, and we could not read Apollo's sending documentation for the same reason. Salesloft appears inside the Outreach entry for contrast.
| Tool | Pricing model | Entry plan |
|---|---|---|
| Instantly | Plans by emails a month and uploaded contacts | Growth $47 a month, $37.60 on yearly; 5,000 emails |
| Smartlead | Plans by emails a month and active leads | Base $39 a month; 6,000 emails |
| lemlist | Plans by user | Email $69 a month, $55 on yearly; 50,000 emails |
| Mailshake | Plans by user and sending addresses | Starter $29 a month, $25 on yearly; 1,500 sends |
| Woodpecker | Per contacted prospect | $7.00 per 100 contacted prospects, monthly |
| Apollo | Per user plus credits | Basic $49 per user a month, billed annually |
| Outreach | Seats plus AI credits | Not published |
How sending limits, warm-up and rotation differ
The useful differences sit in the documentation, and pricing pages say little about them. Vendors disagree on how many emails a mailbox should send, and they treat warm-up traffic differently: in some tools it is excluded from the cap, in others it uses part of it.
| Tool | Per-mailbox figure in its docs | Warm-up and the cap | Rotation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instantly | 30 campaign emails a day recommended | Warm-up excluded from both caps | Automatic across selected accounts |
| Smartlead | 15 to 25 (SmartSenders Google), up to 50 (blog) | Warm-up and campaigns share one cap | Advice to spread volume; no feature page read |
| lemlist | 25 to 30 after ramp, 50 total with warm-up | lemwarm counts toward the 50 | Multiple senders, new leads only |
| Mailshake | Warm-up default 40; provider maxima in a 2021 article | Not stated | Even split, up to 50 addresses |
| Woodpecker | Mailbox daily limit; 5,500 ceiling | Not stated | Not described in the article read |
| Outreach | 5,000 a week per mailbox | Not stated | Not stated |
Three practical points follow. First, lemlist's own rotation article says "Rotation is not a way around the volume caps", and adds that mailboxes on the same provider share a limit. That is one reason we split inboxes across providers: our Rapid Lanyard work ran 39 domains with Microsoft and Google inboxes split, and the campaign drew 110+ positive replies (case study). Second, a per-mailbox cap says nothing about the domain. Smartlead's blog suggests keeping a domain under about 500 cold emails a day. Third, the sender's domain is judged by the mailbox provider whatever the tool. Google advises a spam rate below 0.10 percent in Postmaster Tools, says to avoid 0.30 percent or higher, and requires SPF or DKIM from all senders and DMARC above 5,000 messages a day (Google). Our infrastructure playbook covers the setup, and the cold email systems service is where we build it. Standalone warm-up products are covered in the warm-up and deliverability tools list, and tools that send on their own in the AI SDR tools list.
Instantly
Best for teams that want to put many mailboxes on one campaign and work from plain numbers. Instantly's help center defines an account limit (campaign emails each mailbox sends a day across all campaigns) and a campaign limit (the total across every account in one campaign). It recommends 30 campaign emails per account per day, or 20 for Airmail accounts, and says warm-up emails "don't count toward the two limits". A campaign uses "all the accounts you want to use", and "the system will rotate them automatically", with no cap on the number of accounts. For new accounts it suggests a warm-up limit of 10 a day and a reply rate of 30, rising by one a day. Slow Ramp raises campaign volume by 2 emails a day until the cap.
On the pricing page, the Growth outreach plan is $47 a month ($37.60 a month on yearly) with 5,000 emails, 1,000 uploaded contacts and unlimited email accounts and warm-up. Hypergrowth is $97 ($77.60) with 125,000 emails and 25,000 contacts. Light Speed is $358 ($286.30) with 500,000 emails and 100,000 contacts. The page also shows bundles (Starter $94, Scale $194, Agency $555) and lists Hypergrowth at $358 in one place without explanation. Inbox placement is not a plan specification. Limit to know: check the Hypergrowth price at checkout. Sources: pricing, account and campaign limits, warm-up settings and campaign settings. Checked 18 October 2026. Our head-to-head is in Smartlead vs Instantly.
Smartlead
Best for agencies and high-volume senders who want unlimited mailboxes and client workspaces. The pricing page lists Base at $39 a month, Pro at $94, Unlimited Smart at $174 and Unlimited Prime at $379, with a second set of prices ($32, $78, $144, $315) that the page does not label. Its FAQ ties a 17 percent saving to annual billing, and the second set is about that much lower. Emails a month are 6,000, 90,000, 150,000 and 500,000. Active leads are 2,000 on Base and 30,000 on Pro. The FAQ says every plan has unlimited email accounts. Client workspaces cost $29 a month each from Pro, and Prime includes three. Email verification, SmartDelivery tests (from $49 a month) and SmartServers ($39 per server a month) are sold separately.
The vendor's sending figures vary by page. Its warm-up guide recommends 20 to 40 warm-up emails a day, a daily ramp of 2 to 3 and a 30 to 40 percent reply rate, says not to exceed 40 for new accounts, and treats accounts as ready after 14+ days (21 to 30 for newer domains). Warm-up and campaigns share one daily cap: in its example, a cap of 40 splits into 15 warm-up and 25 campaign emails. The SmartSenders FAQ says 15 to 25 a day for the Google mailboxes it sells, with at least 15 minutes between sends. A blog post dated 25 September 2026 says up to 50 cold emails per mailbox is safe, and warns: "Rotation without monitoring is just distributing damage across more mailboxes." One limit: those figures run from 15 to 50 a day, and the pricing page does not state which plans include warm-up. Sources: pricing, warm-up guide, SmartSenders FAQ and blog. Checked 18 October 2026.
lemlist
Best for teams that want email, LinkedIn and other steps in one sequence. The Email plan is $69 a month ($55 on yearly) with 50,000 emails a month and lemwarm included. Multichannel is $109 ($87 on yearly), with 5 senders per user and no stated email cap. Enterprise is custom. The FAQ says pricing is based on the number of users.
Two help articles give different limits. "Understand sending limits" says a mailbox out of warm-up starts at 10 to 15 a day through lemlist, adds 5 a week and caps at 25 to 30, and that warm-up plus campaigns stay at or below 50 a day per mailbox, with lemwarm counting toward the 50. A domain under a month old should stay under 100 a day in total. Limits run on a rolling 24 hours. The rotation article says a new mailbox sends about 30 to 40 a day and the total per provider stays under 70. Rotation applies to new leads only, each lead keeps its first sender, and mailboxes need a warm-up score of 90+ and 14 days of stabilization first. The catch: the 50-per-mailbox and 70-per-provider figures do not match, so ask support which applies. Sources: pricing, sending limits and inbox rotation. Checked 18 October 2026.
Mailshake
Best for low-volume senders who want warm-up and verification in every plan. Starter is $29 a month ($25 on yearly) with 1 email address and 1,500 sends a month. Email Outreach is $49 ($45) with 2 addresses and unlimited sends. Sales Engagement is $99 ($85) with 10 addresses, 5 phone numbers and unlimited dialer minutes to North American numbers. Agency is contact sales. All plans include unlimited uploaded contacts, warm-up and email verification. The FAQ says billing is by users and each user can connect one mail account, so confirm before budgeting.
Rotation is documented: sending "will be split evenly among the selected emails", up to 50 addresses, and prospects already emailed keep their original address. The warm-up default is 40 a day, adjustable to 100, with a reply rate near 30 percent, and "increase gradually" is off by default. The per-day limits article lists Gmail at 500, Google Workspace at 2,000, Microsoft at 1,000 and SMTP at 1,000, and says Google may throttle lower. Limit to know: that article says "Last updated on May 13, 2021", so treat the figures as old provider maximums. The article itself points to the sending calendar for limiting volume. Sources: pricing, multiple addresses, warm-up and daily limits. Checked 18 October 2026.
Woodpecker
Best for teams that prefer to pay per contacted prospect and run client accounts. The pricing page shows $7.00 per 100 contacted prospects on monthly billing, with annual billing marked "save 33%". Every plan includes unlimited email accounts, unlimited verification and 4 warm-ups. Extra warm-ups are $5 a month per mailbox, Google or Microsoft addresses are $6 each, and an agency panel is $27 per active client. If you pass your prospect limit, new prospects stop receiving emails, and a prospect added to five campaigns counts as five.
Its help center separates a campaign daily limit (new prospects entering step one) from a mailbox daily limit that covers openers and follow-ups. The article puts the maximum at 5,500 emails in 24 hours from the app. Mailboxes bought through Woodpecker are capped at 250 a day for Google and Microsoft and 100 for Maildoso and Infraforge. Warm-up reaches 50 a day by default, with a reply rate up to 55 percent, and the article says a domain warm-up should last up to 3 months and not run alongside campaigns. One limit: the sending-limits article does not describe rotation, and the warm-up article does not say whether warm-up uses the cap. Sources: pricing, sending limits and warm-up. Checked 18 October 2026.
Apollo sequences
Best for teams that want contact data and sequences under one subscription. In an article dated 17 September 2026, Apollo lists Basic at $49 per user a month billed annually, Professional at $79 and Organization at $119 with a three-user minimum, and says Basic includes unlimited sequences. Its pricing page names the tiers Free, Basic, Professional and Custom. It says credits are pooled across the team, unused credits do not roll over, the free plan connects Gmail accounts only, and paid plans can connect Microsoft and other providers.
The catch: Apollo's knowledge-base pages returned an access error to our fetch, so we cannot report its per-mailbox limits, warm-up settings or rotation. Check those before comparing it with the tools above. Sources: pricing and plan article. Checked 18 October 2026.
Outreach (with Salesloft for contrast)
Best for large sales teams with admins who govern sending centrally. Outreach sells multichannel sequences, meeting scheduling, conversation intelligence and deal management, plus AI agents. Its pricing page shows "Request pricing" for four plans (Amplify Essentials, Core, Plus and Pro) with 10,000, 25,000, 50,000 and 100,000 AI credits, and says pricing combines per-user seats with consumption-based AI credits. No dollar figure appears.
Its support documentation says "Outreach has an absolute sending limit of 5,000 emails per week, per mailbox". Each mailbox also has a configurable option for the maximum bulk emails sent per day, and a user's limit cannot exceed the org-level limit. Spread over five business days (our arithmetic), 5,000 a week is 1,000 a day per mailbox, far above the per-mailbox figures the other vendors here recommend, so the daily bulk option is where an admin sets the practical limit. Salesloft's pricing page lists no plans or prices and directs visitors to "Talk to Sales". Limit to know: neither vendor publishes a price, so budgeting starts with a sales call. Sources: Outreach pricing, Outreach email limits and Salesloft pricing. Checked 18 October 2026.
Questions
How many cold emails can one mailbox send a day?
Vendors disagree. Instantly recommends 30 campaign emails per account, lemlist caps warm-up plus campaigns at 50 a day per mailbox, and Smartlead's pages range from 15 to 25 for Google mailboxes it sells to up to 50 in a blog post. Start low and raise volume only while bounces and spam complaints stay low.
Does warm-up count toward the sending limit?
It depends on the tool. Instantly says warm-up emails do not count toward its two caps. In Smartlead's warm-up guide, warm-up and campaigns share one daily limit, and lemlist counts lemwarm toward its 50 a day ceiling.
Does inbox rotation raise how much I can safely send?
Not by itself. lemlist's rotation article says mailboxes on the same provider share a limit, and Smartlead's blog says rotation without monitoring spreads damage across more mailboxes. More volume needs more warmed mailboxes and domains, across more than one provider.
Which cold email tool is cheapest?
On entry plans as published on 18 October 2026, Mailshake Starter ($29 a month) and Smartlead Base ($39) are lowest, but they cap sends at 1,500 and 6,000 a month. Compare cost per thousand emails you actually need, and add the mailboxes and domains, which are separate.
Sources
- Google: Email sender guidelines
- Instantly: Pricing
- Instantly Help: Account and campaign limits
- Instantly Help: Warmup settings
- Instantly Help: Campaign settings
- Smartlead: Pricing
- Smartlead API: Email warmup guide
- Smartlead Help: SmartSenders FAQs
- Smartlead: How many cold emails per day per domain
- lemlist: Pricing
- lemlist Help: Understand sending limits
- lemlist Help: Use inbox rotation for campaigns
- Mailshake: Pricing
- Mailshake Help: Send a campaign from multiple email addresses
- Mailshake Help: Change warm-up settings
- Mailshake Help: How many emails can I send per day
- Woodpecker: Pricing
- Woodpecker Help: Sending limits
- Woodpecker Help: Warm-up process
- Apollo: Pricing
- Apollo: What does Apollo's pricing actually include
- Outreach: Pricing
- Outreach Support: Configure user email limits and safeguards
- Salesloft: Pricing
Worked examples are illustrations unless a case study is linked. How we write and check these pages.